[2022-01-24] Radiation oncology check-in #3

As if on cue, the side effects of radiation have arrived, exactly halfway through my treatments.

The occasional tingling that I was experiencing last week has evolved into inflammation and prickling. It feels like I've ridden a horse for a few hours and then discovered a burr in my pants. Ouch.

I met with my radiation oncologist after this morning's radiotherapy. Dr. Jin confirmed that my reaction was to be expected. She prescribed a prescription cream to help deal with the inflammation and discomfort and to promote healing. She recommended that I start using a sitz bath to soothe the irritation. And she indicated that I could use over-the-counter medication to deal with pain.

Fortunately, I am not in much pain. I feel a little tentative when I first sit down, but I can usually settle in a way that relieves any momentary discomfort.

My radiation therapists have told me a few times that things will get worse before they get better. I'm expecting the side effects to intensify over the next few weeks before finally subsiding by the end of February. I'm hoping to be back to normal in time for maple syrup season and the arrival of spring. That's something to look forward to.

14 down, 11 to go.